PDA

View Full Version : discus beginner

CoKen
03-08-2006, 06:15 AM
hi guys

i am very new to discus, and had just bought a tank, 40 gallons, with a canister filter (AE 808 model). the fish shop staff came to setup everything for me (as part of the package), he told me to keep the water for a week
before putting any discus in. i filled the tank with tap water, he also put in some chlorine remover and ammonia reduction to the tap water.

when should i adjust the PH level? i intend to adjust the PH level to 6, is this an ideal level for small discuss? if not, what is the good level. i am going to buy 8 1.5 inches baby discus.

as for the water changing issue, do i need to change the water 50% daily? if i change the tank water with the tap water, assuming i store the tap water over night before filling into the tank. what happen to the PH level? will the chlorine disappear after an overnight stored?

for a healthy discus, will its colour develop evenly (full body) as it grows? when the colour start developing? i saw some 3 inches discus, their colour only halfly developed, leaving the back part of the body plain colour (white), i was told that it will develop soon, is this true? or is it something wrong with the discus?

what are basic food for discus, some suggest beefheart, flake, red worm, etc...

your advise is very much appreciated.

rgds
Ken

Doug A
03-08-2006, 09:12 AM
Hi Ken,

Welcome to Simply! This is a fantastic site with lots of information. Now on to your questions.

First off DO NOT adjust your Ph.When you start messing with your Ph you will only cause more problems for yourself. I raised my discus in Ph 8 and they did fine.

Water change is highly debatable. Many people (myself included) Change 50% daily when they are young. Some change their water more and some less. You will have to find what works best for you and your schedule. With young discus I would not go any less then 50% every other day.