PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated by anti-social discus

RockRiverfish
03-20-2006, 04:56 AM
OK - I'm new to keeping discus, but thought I had enough info to be succesful. Maybe I was wrong. Sorry for the very long post, but I needed to "blow off some steam".

Background - I purchased eight 2.5" to 3" blue snakeskins from a local breeder almost three months ago. I am confident that they were good fish from the start. The first week was a bit hard on them, since I ended up moving them 3 times to accomodate emergency house repairs. Two of them developed Hex, which I thought I had treated properly thanks to the great information and assistance from posters on this site. I'm still on the fence about the whole "discus can be kept in hard / high ph water", but figured I would give it a try since so many have said it works for them.

Tank specifics - 90 gallon bare-bottom, Temp 84, ph 8.2, GH 300ppm, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 5-10 ppm. 30% water change with aged water every other day. Two large sponge filters and an Aqua-Clear HOB filter.

Frustration #1 - After the two previously sick fish had apparently made full recoverys, both of them died mysteriously. No signs of anything wrong, and then floating the next morning. Each about a week apart.

Frustration#2 - Ever since I purchased these fish, they have been very shy. They refuse to come out into the open if anyone is near the tank, but will swim around playfully when I sit quietly on the other side of the room. They are in a bare-bottom 90 gallon tank. The back/ sides/ bottom are painted, and there are no decorations in the tank. They just hang out behind the sponge filters or under the heaters (not huddled together as if they were sick, just hiding). I did put a few pieces of driftwood in the tank for about two weeks to see if they would feel more secure, but that had no effect. There is very little activity in the room, since it's just me and the wife.