PDA

View Full Version : Botias?

MayorNewton
04-20-2006, 09:05 PM
Seems like they'd be good for cleaning the bottom and taking care of snails (planted tank). Any thoughts?

Newt

wolfbane
04-20-2006, 09:31 PM
I have 2 little skunk botias in my discus tank. They eat the smaller snails, there's lots of empty shells, by they don't eat the bigger ones. They seem to leave the other fish alone.

frisco008
04-20-2006, 11:24 PM
I am no expert here I have other tanks with other than discus in them and it would be something to just watch. If they grow up together they might do ok. I have yoyo's, clown loaches and the blue with orange finned ones, the blue are somewhat aggressive and the clowns can be if they get bigger. Just have to watch and learn I guess.

Good luck:D

P.S. With my blood pigeons I have 2 Gold Severums, a Chocolate Albino Pleco and now an albino rainbow shark.....no problems at all. Severums are a bit aggressive but it has made the discus more aggressive too.

Alight
04-20-2006, 11:40 PM
There was a nice thread on this site about using loaches for snail control in Discus tanks. The short answer was "yes they work very well" . The longer answer was that some loaches are better with Discus than others, although some found that even the largest, most aggressive loaches (clown loaches for example) worked fine with at least some Discus.

I have angelicus loaches that worked well for snail control until recently when the snail population exploded for various reasons. I got some small clown loaches which can be returned to the place I got them when they get big for temporary snail population control.

tpl*co
04-21-2006, 11:24 AM