PDA

View Full Version : How hard are they really?

born2lovefish
04-25-2006, 03:13 PM
I have been keeping freshwater fish for quite a few years now. I had a stingray a while back, but had to sell him before I moved. I have tried discus before, but never was that into them. I have a 75 gallon tank that I need to put some fish in because I sold all my rainbows. I am just wondering how hard discus really are? So many people say you have to do BIG water changes all the time. Is that really needed? I have an eheim wet/dry along with a emp.400 bio wheel and big whisper hang on the back for filtration. My ph is on the high end of 7 and I think my water is somewhat hard. I know it has alot of calcium in it, because my filters get the build up on them. Would I be able to keep some discus in it with the water I have now? Also, would I really need to do water changes all the time? Would every other week be enough or maybe a smaller amount every week? I just need someone's advice before I go putting all the money into it. They say stingrays are hard to keep, but I thought mine was really easy to keep. I did water changes every week, only because it was plumbed into a 70 gallon drum at my old house, and things were fine. Would discus really be that hard?

White Worm
04-25-2006, 03:25 PM
For ultimate growth, health, size, breeding, shape, the answer would be yes. Is it absolutely neccessary for large daily w/c's, I dont think so, jmo. A week or two is too long. For good results, you could get away with 3 medium to large w/c's per week with no serious problems. Low quality water conditions lead to stress and sickness. The more clean water, the less chance or % you would have illness. When that happens....it becomes a chore and no fun at all.

born2lovefish
04-25-2006, 03:38 PM