PDA

View Full Version : Ferts and Algae and More

marilyn1998
07-06-2006, 07:07 PM
I have done so much reading on so many different kinds of algae that I am totally confused.

I have a 90G kept at 85 degrees because I have 8 discus, 20 cardinals, 3 rams and 3 bushynose plecos.
I run 186W of Flo lighting, 130W is compact. I run an AQ110 with a prefilter and a Filstar XP3 with a prefilter. Substrate is pebble rock, about 1" deep. Plants are root fed in clay pots with just the rock substrate. (WIll change that when I am done scaping). I do EI lighting and ferts using Greg Watson PMDD 1/16th tsp and 2 caps of Excel daily. On 7th day I do 50% WC, and run a 24W UV for 24 hours.

I got rid of green water about 2 weeks ago, but it seems that it is trying to come back. Water looks to be getting pale green tinge. I ran the UV again. Also, on my Ludwigia Peruensis and my Crypt Wendtii I have pulled off what seems to a green "root" looking strand with some nubs along it. (kinda like I would imagine duckweed to start as?) Read about thread algae, but it isnt thick at all. Just about half a dozen strands.

I have alot ot new growth on my water sprite, all my swords, and my anubias nana. My ludwigia repens is also getting bushier and taller.

My water params are ammonia at 0, nitrites 0, nitrates 0, KH 5, GH 7, phosphate 1.0 and iron at .1.

Should I be adding more KNO3 to get my nitrates up? is this the reason that I have green water starting again? my ammonia spiking? My tank has been running for 6 months. I cleaned my AQ about 8 days ago, and the Filstar is two weeks old. I run my light 10 hours on a timer.

No deaths, no plant matter hanging around that is dying. I dont understand an ammonia spike happening. I doubt my test kits are right. My nitrates HAVE to higher than 0. I have a full fish load and only do WC once a week. Tomorrow I am adding more plants. adding 10 vals, an onion plant, another repens, 5 pots of dwarf hairgrass, a red temple, and 2 mexican oak plants.