PDA

View Full Version : Albino Angel Pair

White Worm
07-08-2006, 11:20 PM
I got albino angels from kenny and they layed eggs and then were eating them. Their opovitors (sp?) (sex parts) were definately sticking out. Hey Kenny, explain the process with angels. What do I need to do? How do you know girl / boy with angels? Help?

Kenny's Discus
07-08-2006, 11:43 PM
Hi Mike - I'm no angel expert(nor discus expert)...I only bred these guys when I happened to have a pair out of 2 angels I got, so I'll let other angel experts answer your questions. I do think that the M's & F's tubes are in a way similar to discus' especially the females' being longer and more visible. I've also found that IME it's fairly difficult to have the parents raise their own frys, but not totally impossible. Sry I couldn't be of more help on this Mike.

Kenny

Kindredspirit
07-09-2006, 12:44 AM
Mike ~ Ryan pretty much ....or Al are the Angel experts IMO ~

Marie ~ http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/29/29_4_11.gif

Ryan
07-09-2006, 01:55 AM
Females will be fatter because they are full of eggs. They have a thicker, more blunt ovipositor. Males' ovipositors will be thin and pointed at the end.

If eggs are fertile they will hatch in 2 - 2 1/2 days depending on water temperature. The parents will probably move the wrigglers if they don't eat them. They will not go free-swimming for 5 days or so. Feed them newly hatched brine shrimp as soon as they go free-swimming.

Albino fry can be harder to raise because they're pretty much blind at first. It might be beneficial to keep them in a very small tank so that the brine are easier for them to find at first. Once the fry form a "cloud" after free-swimming I would suck up BBS in a piece of airline tubing and blow it directly into the center of the cloud of fry. The movement of the BBS should stimulate the fry to eat it.

Be aware that female angels will spawn with one another, so you may or may not have an actual pair.