PDA

View Full Version : Angel Fish experts - Help needed

pcsb23
10-21-2006, 11:18 AM
I have some F1 scalare angels and I need help to determine the sex of them. I have 6 in total, looks like at least 4 have paired off, but how do you tell which is which if you have never seen them lay eggs??

Any help is appreciated.

LizStreithorst
10-21-2006, 01:13 PM
I'm fairly new to Angels, but IME the females are slightly smaller and more elegant looking. The males have a somewhat of a cichlid hump which to me makes them appear a bit course. HTH.

pcsb23
10-21-2006, 02:03 PM
I'm fairly new to Angels, but IME the females are slightly smaller and more elegant looking. The males have a somewhat of a cichlid hump which to me makes them appear a bit course. HTH.

I had been told that by someone, didn't know if it was right, soooo in the pics the first one is male? and the second female?

What happens if there is no hump?? is the hump always there? Sorry if these are dumb Q's but...

Tony_S
10-21-2006, 02:21 PM
Hey Paul

yes, definately male in the first, female in the second.

Tony

LizStreithorst
10-21-2006, 02:25 PM
I ain't no expert but I agree with Beth.

pcsb23
10-21-2006, 02:49 PM
Thanks, Beth, Tony & Liz.

Paul Lucas
10-21-2006, 05:07 PM
What happens if there is no hump?? is the hump always there? tuch, tuch - humps on males - are there humps on discus!!??

Paul, an old guy at Arundel Aquatics, and he picked me many pairs long ago, said look at them head on - female has slightly rounded abdomen and 'wider ventrals' and the male is, just like in the human race, more slender lol!!! I'm sure there was more to it than that but give it a go - if they're mature it'll work as it does in discus

pcsb23
10-21-2006, 06:18 PM
tuch, tuch - humps on males - are there humps on discus!!??

Not on good ones :)