PDA

View Full Version : can this be done?

tacks
11-25-2006, 05:28 PM
Hi I am new here andhave fallen for discus. I have a 90 gallon heavly planted tank with 5 angels as the main fish. My question is can I remove the angels, raise the temp. my ph is at 6.22, injected co-2 and try discus? I know I make it sound simple but I figure the educated ones here will se me on the right road. Yo have a great site here and I have had my tank up for 6 yrs. thanks to all who repley Ed

GrillMaster
11-25-2006, 11:58 PM
If you stick with 6-8 adult discus it should work out pretty good for you. Dont try growing juvies out in a planted tank, the growth will be stunted.

The growth will be stunted for the simple fact that 50% water changes cant be done daily. Ya cant do 50% WC's daily cause it will interfere with the plant ferts.

Definately a catch 22!

scolley
11-26-2006, 12:27 AM
My question is can I remove the angels, raise the temp. my ph is at 6.22, injected co-2 and try discus?
Ed - I'm new to discus, and you've got me beat on planted tank years too. But since you have the years in planted tanks, I'm gonna state the obvious to you - all plants can't tolerate "discus temps". So do your homework. I'd suggest Tropica as a great reference site for temp info.

My CO2 ppm crept up to almost 60 ppm this week. I'm not going to go into my stupidity now that let that happen, when I was trying to hold it close to 30. I'll just note that I had two spawnings this week in those conditions, so I would not sweat the CO2 too much.

As for water changes and fert dosing, just be aware that the discus, and/or their uneaten food, will contribute a lot to your N and P concentrations, so be ready to modify your schedule accordingly.

Good luck! And please let us know how it goes.

tacks
11-26-2006, 10:00 AM
Thank you Steve and Mystic Ct. for your helpful information. Have a great day Ed

Alight
11-26-2006, 10:54 PM