PDA

View Full Version : Startig first discus tank

Derek
02-20-2007, 06:38 PM
So I'm a discus noob and plan to make my new 75 gallon tank a planted discus tank. I'm not new to plants but just keeping discus. The tank will have flourite substrate, 340 watts of light, a 300 watt heater, and pressurized co2.
Now to the questions, What is the smallest ammount of discus I can keep? I was thinking 4-5, And should I start with juvies? I want to b/c the larger ones are triple the price where I'm at. Also will my 7.6-7.8 ph be a factor if the discus are domesticated? They are tank bred from what I'm told. Although my ph is high my water isn't very hard, When I raise my co2 to 30ppm my ph drops to 6.8, but I don't want my water params jumping all over to kill my fish. Also because it is planted what is the lowest temp I could keep them at? I was thinking 80-82 degrees? My plan is to keep the juvies in my spare 55 gallon for a month or two and once the planted tank gets established I will introduce them to it. What are your thoughts?

Ardan
02-21-2007, 06:42 AM
Hi and welcome:)
4 to 5 juvies would be good to grow out for a while in the 55. If you are new to discus this would be best. I have seen people grow big discus in a planted tank, but for me the barebottom might be best. Then introduce to the planted tank when grown. ph is fine
Do lots of wc's at least 3 times/wk.

hth
Ardan

pcsb23
02-21-2007, 05:15 PM
Hi Derek, growing out juvvie discus in a planted tank is a mighty challenge. Not saying it can't be done as I've done it. Personally think it would be easier to push water uphill :) Never again. My advice is either buy adults for the planted or grow out juvvies in a bare bottom tank.