PDA

View Full Version : Wild Heckel care

eddtango
02-22-2007, 12:14 AM
I'm about to buy 5 wild Heckel Discus. What's the basic care tips for this fish? Is it advisable to mix them with Angelfish?

RyanH
02-22-2007, 01:21 PM
If you haven't kept heckels before, I would advise you to not mix them with other species.

Keep things very simple for yourself to start: barebottom tank, lots of clean water with stable params, and sponge filtration.

Learn to keep them happy and healthy before you introduce a bunch of other variables.

I have been keeping heckels for about 2 years now. They are great fish and hardy as horses. However, they also have very specific needs. I've found that mine seem to do best with slightly softer water and didn't really appreciate my tap as much. So now I use an RO mix and keep their TDS around 120. I feed them a variety of foods and keep their tank clean.

hth:)

-Ryan

geekgeek
02-22-2007, 01:41 PM
I have 2 heckels along with my 2 wild blues for a while now. I find the heckels are a more shy compare to the bully blues. They are hardy. I use 6.5 tap water and they seem to do okay. Just age the water 24 hours before adding it.

Eats only bloodworms (won't take anything else).

Did I mention they are hardy. I give them 20G per fish and I do 25% weekly water change. I also have gravels and plants in the tank. The plants takes care of the nitrate. Either my nitrate test expired (which I doubt) or the plants is doing a real good job take care of things.

They are easy to keep as long as you give it more gallons per fish.

pcsb23
02-22-2007, 06:09 PM
I'd follow Ryan's advice if I were you and keep things nice and simple. Good luck with them too, one day I'll get some Heckels.

Moon
02-22-2007, 07:58 PM