PDA

View Full Version : My first post with a problem

ezeke1
05-22-2007, 08:43 AM
Hello All,
I'm glad I found this forum community and I hope I can help add to it in the future :)
Unfortunately my first post is regarding a problem. I recently purchased two beautiful golden leopard snakeskin babies (3") and I have a planted tank. They were doing just fine until I became hasty and decided I needed to stir up the 4" gravel bed of flourite to add a new piece of driftwood. That caused a massive dust storm and I performed damaged control by changing nearly 50% of the water. The storm has cleared and since then I did another water change and everything seems back to normal. However during the process I saw that my nitrate jumped to 20ppm.
As it now stands, my baby discus are turning darker. They are eating readily and coming to the front of the tank when I'm around, but I am worried there is still a problem. I'm new to discus so aside from checking the water parms, I am not sure what could be wrong with them. Please help!

Thank you in advance! David

Tropical Haven
05-22-2007, 08:46 AM
If your Nitrate is still at 20ppm then do another 50 to 75% water change. The key to keep very low or no Nitrate in your tank is to keep up with water changes. By the way, welcome to the forum.

poconogal
05-22-2007, 09:10 AM
Do some more WCs to get your nitrate down and keep a close eye on them. If no improvement, its possible that they may have contracted a bacterial infection from what came out of the gravel bed. Also, if your nitrate jumped up, have you checked your other params... ammonia and nitrite?

ezeke1
05-22-2007, 09:57 AM
If your Nitrate is still at 20ppm then do another 50 to 75% water change. The key to keep very low or no Nitrate in your tank is to keep up with water changes. By the way, welcome to the forum.

Thank you for the welcome :)