PDA

View Full Version : Discus Beginner

Vinny
09-27-2007, 01:14 PM
Hi, I am Vinny, and I am new to this forum. :D

After lots research, I have decided on getting discus as my next fish!
I plan on setting up a 55 gallon tank come November or December, and am very excited for this setup. :p

I understand that it is best to raise juveniles in a bare bottom tank, and so I will do just that. I am wondering where exactly one could find a cheap 55 gallon tank, for roughly 100-150 dollars? I think I will buy a canister filter separatley, and am wondering if anyone recommends one? Then, I would need a heater, and I think that would cover the tank set up. (I am on a budget, he he, I am a student).

In the tank, would it be wise to maybe put in a piece of driftwood, and then leave the rest of it bare while raising the young discus?

Also, how many discus could fit comfortably in a 55 gal? I would like to keep the WC's to roughly every other day, if that limits the amount of discus I could keep.

Also, is it best to cycle the tank with ammonia, or with fish, for a discus tank?

Heh, last question... as to where I should buy the discus from, I am a beginner to discus (hehe), so is there a species one would recommend? Also, I would rather stay away from the prices of discus that are 40 dollars and above... are there any breeders you recommend that I could buy from online? I don't trust my local fish store lol, to be honest.

I'm sorry to ask so many questions.. I just want to plan ahead. :D

Thank you for your time.

troyclark
09-27-2007, 02:00 PM
Vinny, I am no real expert but heres my two cents worth.