PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum - My Discus tank

BSW
09-28-2007, 03:18 PM
Hi,
I love to grow plants and keep Discus. But I'm still learning the ballance between the two in the same tank !!!
This is my Discus tank, I would really love to tear it all down and start over, but nowhere to put the fish now. Didn't have much imagination when scaping it :( I would like to do some driftwood stuff, change the substrate, loose the UGF, and thin the plants down. But to late now. I will probably set up another tank in the near future, swap the fish over, and then change this one.
I've seen some very beautiful tanks on this forum !
Anyway, I thought I'd post it.
60 gal.
pressurized Co2
UV sterilizer
not fertilized to much
Flourish & Excel is all
8 Discus
Neons
Corrys
Ottos
Bamboo Shrimp
Amano Shrimp
I have three other tanks with Angelfish. 1-30 & 2-20's

So HI ! All you plant people ! You'll be seeing more of me !
B

billeagan
09-28-2007, 03:47 PM
gorgeous tank!

Automate
09-28-2007, 04:58 PM
very clean tank and looks like no algae :) How often do you do water changes and what %

cheers

rob

BSW
09-28-2007, 05:09 PM
Thanks guy's -

I do 30% water change every other day. It has dropped my nitrates lower, to which I have got a speckling of BBA now. But it is comming under control. Trying not to add to much of anything because of the Discus. I'm thinkng there is enough of a fish load in there to supply the plants, and so far so good. The tank is holding it's own now except for a normal dose of Flourish at water change and a normal dose of Excel at water change. It's been planted now about 9 months.
216 W of light over head.
B

Discus-Hans
09-29-2007, 01:31 AM
Nice tank, do I know these Discus???? Were did you buy them???

Hans

BSW
09-29-2007, 07:15 AM
Thanks for saying the tanks nice, but I've seen much nicer !!!!
I purchased the Discus locally, I live in Utah, they came from UtahDiscus.
B

Paula B
10-02-2007, 12:46 PM