PDA

View Full Version : Chicago Discus owners

mysphit
11-09-2007, 08:18 PM
I'm new to keeping discus and am currently cycling a 125 that will end up as a planted / show tank. I am not new to plants though. The setup will be mediumish light and no co2 unless we go DYI with it.

What I would really like to know is what precautions / steps do the chicago discus owners do to treat the water if anything for water changes? The last thing I want to do is introduce the fish and end up killing them due to a wc.

All other pointers are welcome as well such as where you end up getting your discus from. I have my eye on one vendor from the chicago area cichlid swap currently coming up in Dec. If you have any juveniles for sale and are reasonable with the prices feel free to PM me as well.

-Ken

Squiggy
11-09-2007, 08:31 PM
Hi Ken..

I'm in the northwest. I age my water at least 12 hours with aeration. From the tap I get 7.5 PH but it climbs to 8.5 after aeration. My TDS is 165 from the tap so I mix with RO for the breeders.
What part of the city are you from?

Joe

Polar_Bear
11-09-2007, 10:52 PM
I have some juveniles you can have cheap.

You need no special precautions for either fish or plants, just a good dechlor.

crazie.eddie
11-25-2007, 06:18 AM
I live in the south suburbs, but our water is Lake Michigan water. I keep discus, angels, clowns, and plecos in my 125 gallon. Using Python No-Spill, I normally perform close to 50% WC and use regular tap water when adding water back in. I add Prime immediately into the tank as the water enters.

Elite Aquaria
11-25-2007, 09:38 AM
If you have any juveniles for sale and are reasonable with the prices feel free to PM me as well.

-Ken

Ken,

I have some Juvies for sale...I sent you a PM a few days ago.

Tropical Haven
11-26-2007, 09:07 PM
I add Prime immediately into the tank as the water enters.