PDA

View Full Version : New to discus...seeking some advice

fxie
02-15-2008, 03:03 AM
Hi everyone,

I've been on these forums (on and off) for a while, but I have never made a post because...well, I've never had discus! However, that may soon change, as a local breeder has a batch of ~3 months old juveniles for sale.

First, a little background. I am an avid aquaria hobbyist, and I do browse several other forums, but I have always been a huge fan of discus and have always wanted to raise them. Currently, I am trying to keep things simple (relatively speaking) with a 30gal and 135gal community tank. The 30 gal currently contains a spawning pair of angelfish, and the 135 has 11 congo tetras, another pair of spawning angels, 3 SAEs, some otos, and cories. The 135 is a moderately planted tank (more plants are on the way!), with 216w of T5 lighting (unfortunately no CO2), and filtered by a Fluval FX5. The tank has a current temperature of 85 degrees, and a pH of 6.4.

Now, on to the questions.

A local breeder has a batch of pigeonblood discus for sale for $15 each. They are currently 2-2.5" in length, and are fed on a diet of white worms, blood worms, and beef heart. I understand that it may be better for me, as this is my first time raising discus, to purchase larger discus. Unfortunately, prices being what they are locally, I'm looking at $70+ for a 4"+ discus...and it is very hard to find ones that are in good condition. At $15 each, it is a difficult offer to pass up. As I do have a good deal of non-discus experience, would it be OK to start of with 2.5" juveniles?

Also, would 30% water changes 2x a week be sufficient? Given the size of the tank, it would be quite the effort performing 50% water changes everyday. I understand I would need to feed the juveniles quite often, but I'm confident any uneaten food will be picked up by the other fish in the tank fairly quickly.