PDA

View Full Version : Need Help!

diamonddiscus08
02-21-2008, 01:43 AM
Hello I am new to discus obviously and I have a 55g with a pH of 6.8 and a temperature of 80F. I am using a wet-dry filtration system and just added a hydor koralia 2. I Along with an orbit ultra 4x130watt lighting. In the tank I have a juvie blue diamond discus along with 10 jumbo neons, 5 corys, 3 albino corys, 4 albino tetras, 2 red-clawed crabs and a blue knight lobster. I am using 90% RO and 10% tap as a buffer with w/c of about 5g every couple of days. I was wondering what the optimal temperature and pH would be to get my juvie to show more activity and eat. He seems to hide quite a bit and I never can actually see him eating. I also noticed that his feces was white however that has disappated. In addtion it seemed his slime coat was shedding just around the belly and tail area. I dipped him in Rid-ich over a stretch of a few days. What should I do?

phidelt85
02-21-2008, 04:45 AM
Hey, DD08, welcome to Simply. 80* is on the very low end of the acceptable range for keeping discus. I would shoot for a range of 84-86*. Since your seeing white feces you may want to bump it up to 88-90*. Was the white feces smooth and kinda transparent or did it look segmented. It may be due to stress and bringing the temp up may be all it needs but if you continue to see white, stringy feces you may have to treat for hex with metro. Try the temp first, however.