PDA

View Full Version : First Discus Setup

edmoran77
02-23-2008, 08:09 PM
Hello:

I just joined SD and have already learned so much. The amount of information on every topic is so amazing. Anyways to my question. I'm new to discus keeping (many other tanks Angels, etc.) but have started cycling my first tank for discus growout, barebottom. I thought I would post some photos of my setup to see if any of you had any suggestions or comments!

Equipment List

Aquarium Size: 56 Gallon Tall Barebottom
Heater: 250 watt Stealth
Canister filter: 304 Fluval (prefilter sponge/foam on intake, fluval prefilter, and fluval biomax, may add Chemi-pure when ready for fish)
Powerhead Maxi-Jet 1200 (with prefilter sponge/foam) will be using this for aging RO water mixed with tap water later to the desired TDS, will probably purchase a smaller model for the aquarium for added biofiltration, too much flow right now
Lighting: Standard Perfecto Lighting
Glass canopy

Water perimeters of aquarium so far:

pH: 7.4
TDS: 290 ppm ( I know this high but I will adjust this lower once tank is cycled) Using Hanna Primo TDS Meter for testing
Ammonia: 2.0-3.0 ppm (Cycling with fishless cycle Ammonia hydroxide and Cycle) I have added a small bag of old Tetra colorbits as well to aid with Ammonia production
Nitrite: .25 ppm (Cycling)
Nitrate: 0 ppm (Cycling)
Temperature: 85 F
The tank has been cycling for 7 days.

The next question is how many juveniles (6-8?) and from where?

Thanks-

Ed

Tropical Haven
02-23-2008, 08:15 PM
Welcome to the site Ed, the first thing is if your using ammonia for your fishless cycle then don't add the tetra bits because those will only make a mess and the ammonia by itself is plenty.

Second is I would put six discus into that tank once it is fully cycled.

edmoran77
02-23-2008, 09:01 PM
Thanks for the advise on the food. I've already taken it out.

GulfCoastDiscus
02-24-2008, 08:56 AM
10 pcs.:) 2.5"

White Worm
02-24-2008, 01:19 PM