PDA

View Full Version : Extreme skittishness

geleen
03-05-2008, 01:31 PM
I purchased 5 adults for a 65 gal in December 07. My first Discus.
There are some other small tetra's in the tank.

Since then it has been a constant problem in that when ever I come near the tank they can't get away fast enough. They must have a constant headache from hitting the sides of the tank, it is that extreme.
When no one is around ...after 1/2 hour, they seem fine, bickering, eating etc.

Now I read extensively here and elsewhere, tried many things,but nothing helps. I also have another 4 tanks with various other tropicals, and there is no problem there.

Three things come to mind:

1./ I am a very tall and strike a large and imposing figure. Perhaps my "giant" image to the fish is all it takes to be that scared, or

2./ I have a lot of experience with breeding, training and showing dogs and the fish seem to act as if they have been somehow neglected during the early stages of life and they are stunted at the level of human interaction, which I observed with dogs from time to time.
During water changes they just cower in the corner and sometimes I move one by hand to vacuum the gravel.

3./ Get rid of these fish and get new adults......but will I have the same experience? This is an expensive choice.

I am coming to the end of my discus keeping, the frustration level is high,and I hope that there is some help so I can change this.
Thanks
John

digthemlows
03-05-2008, 02:29 PM
I can maybe only help the the "large" factor as I'm 6'7" 250lbs and my fish come running up to me when I come near the tank. Otherwise, I don't know why they would be afraid of you? My tank has lots of fish swimming and going crazy all of the time (clown loaches, rosy barbs, large SAE's, 40 tetras) and the discus just ignore it all.

Don Trinko
03-05-2008, 03:31 PM