PDA

View Full Version : Black dots on skins

torch
03-09-2008, 05:54 PM
I'm new to Discus, what are the black dots on Discus, will they go away eventually? I see alot of Discus has them in pet store. I see some of it on my Discus also.

Is it just pigmentations?

White Worm
03-09-2008, 06:26 PM
yes.
It will come and go with stress and dark backgrounds. Its the pigeon strain of discus that you will see this with. Some are worse than others and its considered to be an eye sore for most people. Minor peppering is ok for some.

torch
03-09-2008, 08:57 PM
So its common but chance it may or not go away? What are average owners experiences. Does your go away or not?

White Worm
03-09-2008, 11:30 PM
I dont have any pigeon based fish because of that reason. It may be less with lighter colored environments/backgrounds. It may never completely go away.

torch
03-10-2008, 10:18 AM
That sucks if they don't go away. Should I just avoid buying new Discus that has these black dots? Guess its taking a chance that they may or may not go away?

aquagal
03-10-2008, 10:24 AM
I guess the black dot issue is a trade off. IMO, pigeon-based discus can be some of the most beautiful. I can tolerate a little bit of peppering, but like most don't like a lot. The peppering on my pigeons shows up when they are stressed (like stress bars on other strains). When they are not stressed, you can hardly see anything on most that I have.

torch
03-10-2008, 10:37 AM
what about black dots on Red Marlboro?

Lee C
03-10-2008, 10:41 AM
yes.
It will come and go with stress and dark backgrounds. Its the pigeon strain of discus that you will see this with. Some are worse than others and its considered to be an eye sore for most people. Minor peppering is ok for some.

He's right...

Use the light blue background in a bare bottom tank with pigeon blood for best peppering elimination.
Planted tanks with gravel are asking for the pepper to come out in the PBs, plus you stunt the growth 9 times out of 10.