PDA

View Full Version : my first discus tank

darrin34
03-20-2008, 01:43 AM
Hello all i am just getting into the discus hobby . I live in terrace b.c canada the water here is extremely hard our ph from the tap is 7.8 and the kh is realy high will that be ok for discus or do i have to start forkin out bucks for a rodi and stuff . I am planning on using sand as a substrate with some drift wood . i have t5 lighting and will be using a rena xp4 for a filtre . the tank is already in use as a mixed tang cichlid tank . the tank will house 5 discus probaly 4-5 inches . my main concern is the water will it be ok for discus or should i scrap the idea and go with some thing else. all your input would be greatly appreciated. thank you

RyanH
03-20-2008, 07:41 AM
Welcome to Simply. :)

Your water is fine. Just keep the tank clean and you'll be good.

Take some time to read through the stickied threads at the top of the beginner section and go from there.

ashaysathe
03-20-2008, 10:07 AM
Hello

I am going thru the same process. Read what is on the forum and try and talk to folks on the forum with their experiences. This forum is a great means to do it right. The forum has what I would call "Best Practices" does not mean you cannot deviate from it but then you are at much more risk not only keeping fish at stake but also your resources.
Take your time, do not rush and plan on keeping this beautiful fish healthy as your first goal.
Good Luck and you are in the safe company.

Ashay

PS - Folks on this forum are very very responsive. It has not happened to me that I have reached out to people (no matter how silly you may feel the question is) and they have not responded.

darrin34
03-21-2008, 05:15 AM
i got a read out of the water here i dont wanna sound like a broken record but this is the perimeter of the water here from the tap .

10.08 dkh
12.6 dgh
and 7.8ph

is that rather hard or am i fine and start switching over my tank for my discus .

judy
03-21-2008, 10:18 AM