PDA

View Full Version : A PAINTED TANK

wizard
06-22-2008, 11:23 AM
Hi all, I'm setting up a new 150 and was thinking of painting the back of the tank and would like to know what type of paint others have used. What kind of success etc. I have never done this before. Also, is there a general consensus to using pool filter sand as a substrate. One last thing, I found a supplier of driftwood on E-Bay and was wondering if any of you have dealt or heard anything about them. APetHouse Malaysian Driftwood They have some good looking pieces. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Greg

FatFutures
06-22-2008, 11:51 AM
I just painted the backs of several tanks with Krylon Indoor/Outdoor spray paint and that stuff ROCKS! LOL

Previously, I've used various types of paint on my tanks. Problem is the stuff doesnt' adhere to the glass very well. The Krylon does... once its dry that stuff is pretty tough.

I can tell you, nothing worse than spend quite a bit of time painting a tank (numerous coats to get decent coverage) and then putting a big gouge in the paint when you move it. Or, when you put in your filter lines etc...

Krylon Indoor/Outdoor spray paint... great coverage and it sticks!

wizard
06-22-2008, 04:00 PM
Thanks for the info. Will look for it tomorrow. Did you go with a blue tone? Will a blue be the best choice or is color a personal preference?

FatFutures
06-22-2008, 04:11 PM
Really depends on what you want and where you are going with the tank. I like back for my semi-planted tanks. Really makes all the plants pop. For bb tanks, I used the Krylon Ocean Breeze Blue...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3263/2556350640_493cef993c.jpg

texasdiscusman
06-22-2008, 07:51 PM
Instead of painting get some blue insulation and wrap it save on heating bills.That way you will never have scapre the tank.But Fatfutures you tank does look awesome painted.Look at KC Discus thread he shows how to do it.

gotfish?
06-23-2008, 03:11 AM