PDA

View Full Version : Sand in a discus tank?

lilim10
08-10-2008, 02:10 AM
I'm new to discus, but i know that they require clean water and that gravel accumulates too much ammonia, but is sand ok for discus? the tank will have driftwood with java fern and java moss on it.

tank: 90 gallon
fish: 5 adult discus + 8 neon tetras

oh, and how do you clean sand with a gravel vacuum or python?

gotfish?
08-10-2008, 03:53 AM
python is a kind of gravel vac, i remove the huge tube and just use the hose of the python to try and siphon the debris from the sand. sand is cheap and just get play sand from home depot and refill whenever your going low:)

Don Trinko
08-10-2008, 06:58 AM
I have sand in 2 tanks and gravel in the others. Gravel does not neccisarily promote ammonia. Only if you don't keep it clean. I vacumn the gravel at every WC. (water change)
Sand can promote anerobic bacteria if waste gets trapped below the surface. For this reason you should stir the sand occasionaly. This is recognizable as black patches and the anerobic bacteria produce poisonous gasses. ( hydrogen sulfide I think)
BB ( bare bottom ) is the easiest to clean but more difficult to make look good. It to can be done but requires a little imagination. Don T.

Darrell Ward
08-10-2008, 09:12 AM
If you want the benefits of bare bottom without the bare look, a layer of clear acrylic casting resin can be poured in the bottom of your tank. Next, pour a thin layer of sand over the resin, then pour a another layer of resin over the sand. This will totally encapsulate the sand, making a smooth surface that is bare bottom without being bare bottom. This is an old reef tank keepers trick that also works well for discus tanks. :)

korbi_doc
08-10-2008, 11:16 AM