PDA

View Full Version : Revise my plan

Karlo
09-23-2008, 04:28 AM
I am planning on starting a discus tank in my room upstairs and I formulated a plan for it. God bless my parents for letting me stay in their home while I finish school. Since I am a poor college student I am going to start this project on Jan 25, 2009. By that date I will have aquired all my supplies by mostly mail. I plan on having a 55 gallon BB tank with potted plants. Filter will be a fluval 405 (overkill?) and lighting will be low light, maybe 1.7 wpg.

I have experience in keeping fish and I have a successful planted aquarium running but I feel like my 29 isn't quite enough to satisfy my unhealthy obsession of aquariums.

Jan 25 - check aquarium for leaks, clean and assemble stand and place upstairs.

Jan 26 - Paint back and bottom of aquarium (undecided color, please make a suggestion) and let dry

Jan 28 - Place aquarium upstairs on stand, fill and check for leaks again. Install filter, lights, and other equipment. I will use no heater because the weather in Hawaii is very hot. My room floats around low 80's during the day and drops a few degrees at night.

Jan 29 - Fill partly with aquarium water and possibly foam from established 29 gallon to seed bacteria. Begin cycle with 3 cardinal tetras. Will be using a cycle boosting product but I had not decided which one. Bio Spira is not available around here.

Feb 2 - Add 4 cardinal tetras. test parameters.

Feb 5 - Add 4 cardinal tetras. test parameters. If fully cycled, add another 10 cardinal tetras.

Feb 15 - I plan to have received the 5 juv discus that my LFS will be providing. Test Parameters. Start drip acclimation. Place discus in Aquarium.

I will not feed for 24 hours after acclimation is complete. I plan on feeding 4 or 5 times a day.

6/7 am when I wake up - Frozen food

10 am by timer - Dry food

2 pm by timer - Dry food

6 pm when I get home - Frozen food

8 pm half an hour before lights go off occasionally. - Frozen food