PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions are needed for a new discus tank

Hattawi
12-11-2008, 02:40 PM
I am new to discus keeping.
I got 6 discus last week and I find it very hard to feed them. They eat only blood worms only if it sinks right where they are hiding at. This is very hard to achieve.
They hide at far left corner and they stay there until there is no one in the room then they move out a bit but still stay in the general area of the left corner.
Water parameters: PH 7.5, Temp 31 now, used to be at 26.
GH 5, Ammonia <0.5, nitrate 0, nitrate 0
Tank size: 85cm x 30 cm x 40 cm, the tank has an arch in the front panel that makes it like a dome, at the middle of the arch, the tank measures 40cmx40cm. So the tank size is roughly 120 Litres.
Light: 75cm 25watts 6000k florescent bulb. I had another of the same which was 4000k but I removed it since the tank had too much light with both running at the same time (I think). I have the light on for 12 to 14 hours per day on average. The plants are growing really well.
I do 40% water changes every day. I use Tetra EX600 external filter that contains activated carbon by default. I have a UV sterilizer but I’m not willing to install it.
Other fish in the tank are: 25 Cardinal tetras and 4 leopard corydoras. Planted tank with gravel.
The discus are 2.5 inches now. Judging from their eye size, I do not think they are stunted.
I uploaded some pictures. I would like to feed my discus to speed up their growth. Currently, I only attempt feeding twice per day only to see the blood worms snapped by the cardinals mostly and the rest just sinks to the gravel for good. I siphon it back at the end of the day when I change the water.

I would love if someone would give my advice on how to make the discus eat more. To make them more comfortable and not to hide constantly. How can I improve their hiding place? Any other general advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

DiscussDiscus
12-11-2008, 04:12 PM
Hi Hattawi,