PDA

View Full Version : Probs after w/c

robby d
01-07-2009, 12:48 AM
I am new to discus. I purchased my first 6 a week ago. After the first w/c all fish were at the top gasping for air. I provided more circulation, added some additional dechlor and they were fine by the next morning. After some consideration I thought I must have let the temp drop since I did not turn off the cannister pump during the w/c and water splashed in to the tank for probably 20 minutes. Maybe the temp dropped 4-5 degrees. Otherwise I had no explanation. Tonight, I took precautions on temp during w/c and temp was held constant but had similar problem, although less severe. Fish are spending extended periods at top gasping for air. They ate some but not all food after w/c.

Water change process is simple - tap water in to trash can, combination of hot and cold to equal 86 F. Dechlorinate. Syphon water from tank out in to flower bed. Pump new water in to tank. Tank is 58 gallon and w/c is about 40%. Tank and tap water have the same PH - 7.6.

Any help is appreciated.

tcyiu
01-07-2009, 12:58 AM
Can you post more details about your dechlorination process? i.e. what products, how much are you adding .... etc.?

Have you tested your tap water for chlorine?

dishpanhands
01-07-2009, 01:01 AM
you will probly need to age your water a day before your wc. you will need to add an air stone or make a water fall into the water.

Darren's Discus
01-07-2009, 01:01 AM
Are you ageing your water ? sounds like a chlorine problem causing the fish to gasp.

cheers

Eddie
01-07-2009, 01:05 AM
Do you have Chlorine or chloramine in your water? What dechlor are you using?

If your tank water PH never changes an its stays the same as your tap, no reason to age your water.

Eddie

robby d
01-07-2009, 01:11 AM
I am using API tap water conditioner. Instructions say 1 ml for each 5 gallons. I am using about 20 ml. I have not tested tap for chlorine.