PDA

View Full Version : New Planted Setup

johnlfc
01-13-2009, 05:58 AM
Hi All,

This is my first post on the forum and I am new to Discus keeping having decided to close down my saltwater system due to rising running costs.

I have been reading a forum in the UK trying to build some ideas on how I can use my current setup and convert over to discus however I have had little response so thankfully I have found this site.

I currently have a display tank of 80" x 20" x 24" with 2 x sump tanks 1 @ 36"x 15" x 18" which has no baffles fitted but does have a weir fitted and flows into my 48" x 15" x 18" which is fitted with baffles and the return pumps to my display.

My thoughts are:
My display has 2 weirs fitted at each end. I would have 1 overflow feeding my 3ft tank that I inted to keep bare bottom and use as extra volume for my system and also if feasible to seperate a breeding pair should one establish in my system. This tank will then overflow (as it is raised above the other) into my 4ft tank that I intend to use as a filter sump.

The 4ft tank will be fitted with bio balls and ceramic tubes with sponge and floss above. I can also add carbon here should it be required.
I will also place heaters and air stones in here.
The other overflow in my display tank plus my overflow from the 3ft tank will both feed into here and run through my filters before being returned by 2 x return pumps.

I have not decided what strength of return pumps I will require or type of outlet in the display to create the type of flow required.

Can anyone advise whether my plans sound realistic or could I make better use of the setup I have.

I will be adding another tank alongside my 2 x sumps to carry out water changes.

Any help appreciated!

Cheers
John :)

DiscussDiscus
01-13-2009, 09:43 AM
Hi John,