PDA

View Full Version : domestic water storage

Peachtree Discus
01-30-2009, 01:38 AM
i was thinking of a way to store water using my existing water bins, so that i can fill from my heated water source....without having to move the pump from bin to bin... i know lots of us are using garbage cans, so i was thinking, how can i store more water, but "over there". so i thought of the following design. i am no physics expert, but gravity should allow this to work...i think.

if all 5 water bins are sitting on a level surface, will the water levels in all the bins remain the same when draining and filling?

subcooler
01-30-2009, 02:38 AM
No Physics genius here either, but...
Your drawing shows no way to direct makeup water(faucet) into the remote bank of barrells.Wouldn't it just travel to the single barrell your pumping from (without ever reaching remote barrells)?
Unless your going to put a ball valve on each side if the "T" fitting in your drawing, to direct water flow which ever way you desire.

I would have a dedicated line going to the furthest remote barrell from faucet.Keep in mind that increasing make-up water pipe size over 3/4" is not needed ,as you likely only have 3/4" pipe upto faucet.Usually 1/2" copper pipe upto faucet.

Another observation: Is your pump going to move that much water to require 1" or larger PVC between all your water storage barrells? I doubt you'd need over 3/4" PVC between all the barrells!Smaller pipe size will save you $$$$$ on pipe & fittings!

I would have your remote storage barrels each a bit higher as you move further away from last barrell with pump-to ensure that gravity makes this operation fly!

What are you planning on using to penetrate the barrells & still keep them leak free? I'd use a hole saw & get tank bulkheads(JEHMco)sells them.I guess you could try sealtight electrical fittings(have used them in the past for tapping a storage barrell).They are available @ Lowe's/Home Depot.