PDA

View Full Version : Parisite or not?

nesser
02-14-2009, 02:11 AM
I'm new with discus I have bee doing 50% w/c everyday like clockwork for three months now.I've read most of the posts and sticky threads on Simply Discus.Today when I came home my most dominant discus looked slightly stressed and with my eyes glued close to the tank I see a microscopic clear thing in the water , then it wiggeled! I just about had a heart attack.I don't actually think anything is wrong with my discus but am im dreaming about this wormy orginism i couldnt find it again and ive never had any thing like it before.Everything in the tank has been q/t,the only thing I can think of I these old Tetra flake my girlfriend fed them today,everything else I feed them is Hikari products and the only one of them that I may be suspecting is the f/d ocean plankton ,the only reason im using them is for the high protien.Any body know about free swimming organisms or internal parasites?or any other ideas?

ShinShin
02-14-2009, 03:07 AM
I doubt you have anything to worry about with the creature you saw. I would toss any old flakes you have. They tend to mold, even if you don't see it right off.

Mat

Roxanne
02-14-2009, 05:27 PM
...like a thread wiggling in the water, or a flat thread hanging onto the glass?

nesser
02-15-2009, 01:29 AM
A virtualy clear free floting worm but as i mentioned it was very very small,and I am just speculating. If in case I do find one discus with internal parasites wich i would diagnose through clear poo or lack of appitite what would be my first thing to do?If you were in my shoes so to say.

Eddie
02-15-2009, 01:31 AM
Good to have on hand,

Metro
Formalin & Malachite Green
Levimasole

Eddie

mrika
04-15-2009, 06:15 PM
There something very like that in my tank a while back. I had a bit of a panic until I noticed a mosquito-like insect drowned in the tank. They have small, wiggly aquatic larvae which is what mine turned out to be.

silent_thunder
04-16-2009, 12:18 PM