PDA

View Full Version : Drip Water Changing System

TomKoi
03-02-2009, 04:48 PM
Hello Guys,

This is my first time posting. I'm looking to add an automatic drip water changing system to my 125 gallon tank. In my case, do to space limitations, I was planning a drip system using a tank overflow pipe. I just wanted to get some recommendations. One of the issues I have is that any water which overflows the tank will have to be collected in a sump and pumped to a laundry sink. I plan on tapping the fresh water supply, installing some in-line sediment/carbon filters to remove sediment before trickling the water into the tank. One of my areas of concern is if there is a power outage or the sump pump malfunctions, I need to turn off the fresh water supply otherwise the sump will soon flood. I was thinking of installing a solenoid valve in the fresh water supply that would close on either loss of power or high level in the sump. Is there any specific equipment you would recommend. Would I need some sort of level controller, or relays that would activate the solenoid valve/pump. I don't mind paying a little extra for quality. Also, what type of float switches for the sump and what sump pump would you recommend. Lastly, what type of trickle emmitters are recommended. Should I just buy the solenoid valve and trickle emmitters from a outdoor water irrigation system, or is there something better. I would appreciate any insights you could offer. Thanks.

Chad Hughes
03-02-2009, 05:02 PM