PDA

View Full Version : Will all bright or light colored discus have peppering in planted tank?

Francis
03-16-2009, 07:20 PM
Hi
I am new in discus keeping but experienced in plants. I received a couple of light coloured discus (Butterfly) and they become nearly semi-black within days in my planted tank. They are healthy .active and growing. Now 2 months past, the top half of their body remain black. They are 2 inches now. Are the black peppering going to stay with them in the rest of life in a heavily planted tank?
What kinds of discus should I avoid if I have no plan to uproot all my plants and like the colour they suppose to have? Such as pigeon blood, yellow / red discus, blue diamond?
Thanks
Francis

Eddie
03-16-2009, 08:57 PM
The pigeon blood strains will range from lots of peppering to very little peppering. The color of the substrate, background and tank ornamentation all affect peppering. As well as, water quality and their overall health.

If you want to have discus that don't pepper, any of the non-pigeon blood strains are what you are looking for.

One thing I will add is that even in non-pigeon strains, the substrate, background and tank ornamentation can cause discus to portray lighter or darker (subdued) colors. Water quality and health will also affect their colors.

It is in my experience that if you want brightly colored fish, you should have a lightly or brightly colored envirnment for them to live in. Use a light background, light or white substrate, bright green plants. Even a large piece of driftwood will make a discus dark when they are near the wood. It's part of the defense mechanism, almost chameleon like.

HTH,

Eddie

Francis
03-17-2009, 07:20 PM
Hi, Eddie
Thanks for your info. What are the non-pigeon blood strains? Can you advice me further please? Do they include the red ones or blue ones?
Are you suggesting that the better quality pigeons may have less peppering?
Many thanks
Francis

Eddie
03-17-2009, 08:44 PM