PDA

View Full Version : Pot scrubbers keep floating

foundanewglory
03-30-2009, 08:42 PM
Hi,

THis may be a very silly question but I finally got my sump flowing but the pot scrubbers float. What do you do to make them stay put?

I'm so excited that I finally got the sump going, I'm scared to leave it on all night...... this is my first time and I am paranoid it is going to flood my garage....eeek.

Turtlemaxxx
03-31-2009, 01:12 PM
I think your scrubbies are floating because to water level is too high. they are usually suspended above the water level and the water just drips through them, hense wet/ dry filter.

otherwise you can use some egg crate with weights to hold them down.

-matt

ps: any chance of a picture of this thing?

jeff@zina.com
03-31-2009, 04:17 PM
The chamber gets filled with pot scrubbers so there's no room to float. Water has to flow through them, not under or around them. A picture or diagram of your sump might help.

Jeff

foundanewglory
03-31-2009, 07:14 PM
I took some pics hopefully thet are in the right angle. THis is my first time doing a sump so bare with me...... also what can I do to prevent all the bubbles? I am adding co2 once I get everything going and i know bubbles are co2's enemy...

jeff@zina.com
04-01-2009, 12:52 PM
Scrubbies look fine, it looks like water must travel through them to continue. That looks like foam, not bubbles. Are you sure you didn't introduce detergents?

Jeff

foundanewglory
04-01-2009, 08:52 PM
Everything is new other than the sump itself....I used filter floss to weigh down the scrubbies.

discussmith
04-01-2009, 09:09 PM