PDA

View Full Version : Building a Plywood Tank

dean9922
04-11-2009, 01:09 PM
just finished up my 100 gallon tank, posted some pictures and was asked how, so here goes.....Also note i have never done anything like this before so lots of learning, swearing, asking questions and more swearing went into this tank....lol
First off, i went to the lumber store to get my wood cut, (I used oak plywood but other plywood would work as well) as i don't have a table saw of my own. Make sure they cut wood exactly, it cost me a few dollars more but it was well worth it. My measurements were 48LX18WX24H
you can use any measurements you want. Also note i got all my plans off of
Garf.com. It will tell you exactly how to cut the boards for a tank of any dimensions, along with a stand, canopy.
I then took my front piece of wood into a cabinet shop where they routered the wood for a viewing area. I went with a 3" picture frame so to speak.
Also get some wood trim to cover any areas that you will see after tank is built. It is stainable and finishes the look. Not sure what it's called but you put it on with an iron. Just have to trim and sand.
In assembling the tank, I used 2"drywall screws and spaced them every 2"
along with using a countersinking bit so screw goes into the wood a bit. Then cover the screw with a wood filler, let dry then sand even.
I used Gorilla wood glue along with screws to get a nice tight seal and then clamped together till dry.
Sanding was needed to smooth any rough surfaces after all assembled and dry.
Next came what to put into the tank sides, back, bottom & front....glass, acrylic?
When i priced out glass I just about fell over....OUCH!!!!
So i made alot of calls and got some help from Big Tuck who has done this sort of thing before and he suggested going with the fibreglass resin on the sides, back and bottom. At this point all i needed was the one piece of glass in the front.

Special Note: Thanks alot BIG TUCK!!!!!