PDA

View Full Version : Normal Behavior & Cycling Q

carriej
05-05-2009, 07:14 AM
As this is my first time keeping Discus, I just thought I'd double check.

I got my Discus on Sunday (3) and they are now in a bare bottom 29 gallon because my 55 gallon is not yet cycled. They will be going into this soon as the cycling should be done in a week give or take. Almost there ;)

When I first picked them up they just kind of hung out in the corner and they were eating (discus flakes, tetra bits, bloodworms) and I haven't had a problem getting them to eat anything (sometimes it takes them a few mins though, but they always eat)

Anyway now they are schooling back and forth in the tank and what my Fiance calls "moonwalking" (aka : swimming backwards) they seem to do that a lot, is it normal for them to swim backwards so much?

I've been doing daily water changes of 50%. But here's the problem.. This tank was already cycled when the Discus were put in, but I don't know if the big water changes in the past couple changes did it but it seems to have uncycled. What should I do? The water also seems cloudy, even though there is nothing in there but water and Discus. None of my other aquariums are cloudy. The Discus seem lively and OK but I just want to do this right.

Also, how often should I rinse the filter cartridges? I have pantyhose over my filter instead of a prefilter sponge as I couldn't find anything that fit over my filter properly.

Let me know!
Thanks,
Carrie

seanyuki
05-05-2009, 10:36 AM
Hi Carrie,

I start everything from scratch....new tank,new heater,new sponge filter etc plus 80% water change daily.

You can have the tank running and put in discus and try to feed slowly for the first 2 weeks ...gradually reaching to normal feeding rate or the rate you prefer. By then, the biological filtration will be establishes and working effectively bi itself.