PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Chad Hughes
05-11-2009, 11:25 AM
My name is Chad Hughes and I live in San Diego, CA. I am honored to have been selected as one of this year's SD hobbiest challengers.

I have kept aquariums since I was 6 years old. When I was in high school I started an aquarium cleaning service with the help of my grandfather. He was a realestate agent, so in no time I had a slew of contacts and customers! He used to run me all over town in he afternoons to clean the tanks of the customers he got me. When I left high school to attend college I quit keeping fish and abondoned the business.

Well, my softmore year of college the bug hit again. I was doing really well with school and work and had some extra cash, so I went bigger than I had ever gone and bought a 180 gallon tank, set up a marine tank and had a 2foot nurse shark in it until I graduated. Naturally, my house was the coolest with the big tank and a shark! LOL!

After college I, once again, shut down the aquarium and joined the U.S. Navy and toured four about 7 years. Most of my time was spent in Japan and San Diego, CA. After the Navy, I began a job as an electrical engineer in San Diego, CA. Since that time I also spent 2 years in Iraq working with the Navy, Army and Marine Corps. It was a proud time for me working with all those sailors, soldiers and marines. Iraq is a god for saken place, especially where most of the US troops are. I spent those two years between Mosul, Tikrit and Balad. I traveled all over the Middle East, Asia and Europe. It was good to return home.