PDA

View Full Version : ro/well water mix

Jason K.
06-01-2009, 08:58 PM
hey out their this is my first post, i'm new to the discus community currenty own three all juvies, the first two i purchased are very healthy and active, the third, i beleive to be a red snakeskin? has not eaten since i got him last week, i suspect he has ich since he is showing little salt looking granuales on parts of his body i have removed him from my community tank and am treating him in a 10 gallon.anyhow on another note i was wondering if anyone has expeince mixing ro water to well water, i have a well that produces very hard water gh around 250-300 guessing bucause their strip tests kh in the same range ph 8.4+, i've been using ro water from the store to get the levels within range community tank is corrently at gh 75-100 kh 80-120 ph 7.4-7.6 i have now purchased my own ro system and have been told to not use straight ro water that it should be mixed with the well water some have said 50-50- others 80-20 or more, can anyone point me in the right direction?

Moon
06-01-2009, 09:31 PM
I have well water similar to yours. I use well water to grow out all my discus including new spawns. I use RO water for my breeders and Heckels. The breeders get RO just before spawning. When the eggs hatch and the fry go free swimming they get well water. I am trying to get Heckels to spawn that is the reason for soft water.
HTH

Mr Wild
06-01-2009, 09:49 PM
I have learnt from experience that nothing lives long in ro water on its own, trace elements and minerals need to be present for the fish to utilise them to live a happy healthy life. PM avionics he is a wizz at this and really helped me out!!!

Jason K.
06-01-2009, 10:06 PM