PDA

View Full Version : I know nothing and need lots of help

SheldonRaj
06-02-2009, 01:55 AM
I wrote this Saturday afternoon while waiting for my registration to be validated so I could post:

So I am new at this. My boyfriend and I received a hand-me-down 30 gallon hex tank from my sister last weekend. We set it up, got a new filter and let the tank run most of the week. Last night we went to the specialty fish store to pick out fish. No big deal just to get some colorful guppies and to see what they had. I fell for a beautiful blue discus and had to have it.

Needless to say about two hours later we were on our way home with 4 fancy guppies(less than 1inch), 2 powder blue gouramis(1 ½ inches), 1 Golden Nugget pleco(3 inches), 1 Black Ghost Knife Fish(3-4 inches), 2 Golden Angel Rams(1 inch) and 2 beautiful Discus(about 2 inches)and new heater. I am a little concerned after reading about Discus online all night. We were reassured that all the fish would get along well, there would be no overcrowding, and we needed to keep the water around 80-82F.

We got the temp up and let the bags float for an hour and then started dumping the bags. I am keeping a close eye on everyone but one of our discus(Sheldon- we named him already) stays at the top in the back right under the filter. The other discus(Raj) wont swim to far from Sheldon, about halfway down the tank make around and then return to Sheldon.

I am like a nervous new mom. I was not prepared for this. I just want to have happy, healthy fish. Also, we noticed that while the discus were in the bag (waiting for the tank to heat) they changed color. Is that normal?