PDA

View Full Version : VERY NEWBIE!! Need help selecting discus!

discus_newbie
07-20-2009, 06:19 AM
Hi, I'm very new to discus, I have read for hours about discus keeping technique and now I think I'm ready for my first school of discus. I'm just not fully sure about the bars of the discus, what do they mean? Or is it just the breeds? And also the darkened areas on the discus, what are they caused by and will they go away? Also if the bars are sign of sickness will they go away when the fish return to full healths?
Sorry for many questions, I just want to learn as much as I can before starting to keep such a beautiful and expensive fish. Thanks for all your help.

Elite Aquaria
07-20-2009, 06:30 AM
Vertical bars are present on most domestic based discus when they are young. As the fish matures the bars disappear. Often times when a fish is sick or stressed they will show the vertical bars as adults. Some fish like Blue Diamonds or pigeon blood strains never show vertical bars. Red White and Red golden diamond lines do show bars but they are very faint almost like a ghosting effect. I hope this help a little. Anyway good luck and welcome to Simply.

discus_newbie
07-20-2009, 08:10 AM
Thanks for the quick reply. So I shouldn't be too stressful about the bars? What about the darkened "peppered" like on the discus body? Does it represent sick fish? Will it go away?

Jorge
07-20-2009, 08:33 AM
Peppering happens in Pigeon blood Discus. The peppering in these discus is the equivalent of bars in other discus. As Dan said, Pigeon blood discus "never show vertical bars", but they get peppering.
If pigeon blood discus get too much stress or if the tank where they are is dark (dark susbtrate, dark background, and son on) they will pepper.

mmorris
07-20-2009, 08:43 AM
Have you been looking at the discus in your local fish shop? :D

Yassmeena
07-20-2009, 08:49 AM