PDA

View Full Version : I thought Discus were suppose to be peaceful?!?

lizandcourtney
07-27-2009, 09:47 AM
Hi, I'm Liz. I'm a newbie to keeping Discus but not a newbie to the hobby. I've had FW tanks for many years and even had a mini reef for a few years.

I currently have a 55 gal Discus tank and a 29 gallon community tank. Before I introduced my Discus to the tank I had a small school of neon tetras, and 2 cockatoo cichlids. When I introduced the Discus they were nice to everyone. Last night, I added a small school of bleeding heart tetras, and they (mainly my Emperor Red) has been harrasing the bleeding hearts, chasing them around the tank, trying to eat them, and even started going after the neon tetras. The bleeding hearts aren't mature, but they are by no means small enough to even fit in their mouths. I don't get it!?! I know Discus are cichlids and therefore, can get nasty, but why now all of a sudden? I'd like to keep at least one small school of tetras as dither fish, otherwise I'm afraid my Discus will never come out of hiding....

Liz

Eddie
07-27-2009, 09:53 AM
Yup, thats the cichlid temperament and extremely territorial. I used to say if it can fit in their mouth, I wouldn't mix them but now, I just don't mix them as my discus hunted out and murdered my corydoras, piece by piece. It was awful. Maybe just mine are like rabid dogs. :o

Eddie

bs6749
07-27-2009, 11:28 AM