PDA

View Full Version : URGENT!! Help needed.

yashaswibs
08-01-2009, 02:10 PM
Hi, I am rather new to the discus keeping and had kept planted tank for a long time. this is a settled tank which was doing quite well.

Day before yesterday I did a 50% water change because I had few white spots on my discus. They were looking much better with an increased temp of 31 C. Now I repeated a 50% water change. The plants started to pearl like crazy and are still pearling, but the fishes shot up to the surface. I stopped the water change and am observing the fishes. Every fish except the discus seem to be doing OK.
The discus have turned dark and are close to the surface in the corner.

My set up is such
90 gallon tank with about 80 gallon water.
PH-6 -out of tap- well water, no chlorine or chloramine.
Discus - 4 4 inch blue snake skin (healthy before the event-eating frozen blood worms and mysis shrimp), 6 2 inch snake skin blue (2 of them had couple of white spots over last 72 hours.
Water temp- 31 C~88F
Ammonia-0
nitrite-0
nitrate-10

Substrate- 2inch of ecocomplete +aquariumplants.com substrate
Other fishes- 60 neon tetras, 12 Rasbora tetra, 4 cory cats
Plants-Lawn of dwarf echinodorus,
4 large crypts, 15 large echinodorus, 4 anubias, altherenses renekii.

What next?
I am willing to snap some pics if necessary or measure some other parameters.

Please excuse my spellings of the plant species.

yashaswibs
08-01-2009, 02:16 PM
Equipment- Fluval fx5,
T5 Ho 4 tubes
DIY co2- which I disabled after all this happened.
Fert dosing is usually liquid ferts with substrate tabs but today I introduced Nutrafin Plant gro sticks- 6 of them.

Would be very willing to take them out if necessary.

Chad Hughes
08-01-2009, 02:17 PM