PDA

View Full Version : New 140gal tank... Sump vs. Canister?

David Rose
08-19-2009, 10:26 AM
Hi All,

I just purchased my third aquarium that has two built in overflows and has 4/1" predrilled holes. The tank is 140 gals, 48x24x27.5. I've connected the overflow kits just fine, but now it's time to decide on the filtration/pumps and I would appreciate your recommendations on what would be best for filtration such as two canisters vs. a sump & pump. I've never used a sump before, but have heard that they would be the more efficient way to go.

What do you think and what brand would you recommend? Also, what capacity (gph) flow? I've gone by an article I read that said you need to process 10 times the size of your tank gallons per hour (1400gph?) for good water quality for Discus.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Darrell Ward
08-19-2009, 02:10 PM
I would go with a sump. Heck with buying a way over priced wet dry. Make your own for less than half the price, including the pump. All you need is 2- 1 1/4" standpipes in your boxes, some adapters and fittings, 3/4" tubing for returns, a tank that holds about 30 gals., Eheim 1260 pump, pre filter, and bio media. There is no need at all to get fancy and make little individual compartments for this and that. All I use is a micron bag to act as a pre filter. The water then runs over the bio media in an elevated basket in the sump. The water then drains to the bottom of the sump, and is pumped back into the tank. I have a 240 gal., and two 125 gal. tanks using this style setup for years without a single problem. I just K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid):D

lkevin
08-19-2009, 02:30 PM