PDA

View Full Version : wet/dry filter

stephcps
09-13-2009, 10:12 AM
OK

I just bought a 150 gallon off cl. It had been used with saltwater before. It has two built in overflows and came with a sump, etc. I have never used this type of filter at all. This will be my first time with anything other than HOB. I think I have the basics down, but this is like a foreign language to me. Can anyone send me in the right direction for very basic guide to how to properly hook all this up? How to make sure there is not a flood in my house if we lose power, etc etc. I understand how the filtration works but not the plumbing part of everything.

Thanks!

Steph

David Rose
09-13-2009, 04:47 PM
I'm no expert with only just setting up my first wet/dry sump. So I'm sure others will certainly jump in to help. In the meantime, here's the diagram that came with my sump.

My specifics were as follows:
I got a great deal on a 140gal "Reef Ready" with two overflows built in each side and pre-drilled, so I didn't use the overflow box that came with my sump. I did add ball valves to both the drains and the returns for my peace of mind and ease of changing things out should I ever need to. I'm assuming you don't have a reef ready aquarium, but I've seen where others have still added inline ball valves should they want to remove the sump for cleaning or replacement. I also added a "T" joint to split my returns.

Given my tank was Oceanic and my wet/dry was from Eshopps, I needed to adapt the 1 1/4" drains with reducers to 1" for my Eshopps intakes. The one thing I did learn from this is to be sure to use plumbers tape on all threaded joints and silicone for added measure allowed to cure for 24hrs and adjustable clamps. Any ACE, Home Depot, or Lowes plumbing department techie can help as well. I just took my diagram and a sample hose with me.

http://i885.photobucket.com/albums/ac51/dlr1961_photos/EshoppsSumpSet-up.jpg

http://i885.photobucket.com/albums/ac51/dlr1961_photos/20090913002a.jpg