PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus need Urgent Help!

Fefe
10-30-2009, 07:47 AM
Hello all,
This is Rafaqat from Pakistan.
I wouldn’t say I am new to discus as I had them about 5-6 years ago but only for few months. But I really don’t know anything about these gorgeous fish
In past I had tank about 7 feet long for discus, kept them for about 2 three months and they breaded in that tank.
Anyways now I have tank size 3X1.5X2.5 Feet only have gravel. This tank was used for goldfish big ones they all died. The tank is running since last 4 years. I bought 4 Huge 6” discus and 1 3” Juvenile.
They are extremely stressed and have changed to dark black. I have put 15 leaves of Indian wild almond, the water all turned brown now.
What should I do?
Please note no testing kits available here in Pakistan. The only kit I have is Ph tester and PH of tank water is 8.
I think the Juvenile is near to death.
Please guide me.
Thanks in Advance
Love
Rafaqat

Fefe
10-30-2009, 07:56 AM
Indian wild almond =Terminalia catappa
Peatmoss is not available here!

Eddie
10-30-2009, 09:18 AM
Sorry to hear the discus are not doing too swell. If you dont mind me asking, how did the goldfish die? If it was from disease, maybe its affecting your discus?

How do you treat your water for the fish?

Eddie

nichaqui
10-30-2009, 04:36 PM
I think ph8 is rather high for discus. My ph is 6.7. Maybe reducing your ph would diminish their stress considerably.

mmorris
10-30-2009, 06:51 PM
Hello all,
This is Rafaqat from Pakistan.
I wouldn’t say I am new to discus as I had them about 5-6 years ago but only for few months. But I really don’t know anything about these gorgeous fish
In past I had tank about 7 feet long for discus, kept them for about 2 three months and they breaded in that tank.
Anyways now I have tank size 3X1.5X2.5 Feet only have gravel. This tank was used for goldfish big ones they all died. The tank is running since last 4 years. I bought 4 Huge 6” discus and 1 3” Juvenile.