PDA

View Full Version : 1st tank setup. Am I doing well?

canada11
12-08-2009, 09:22 PM
Hi Guys, I'm just starting out with the whole aquarium thing, and want to do it well. Before making any purchases I wanted to map everything out. Please let me know if I should make any changes or have some advice. Thanks

A) Size and material of tank – 55 gallon glass aquarium (15D x 48W x 20H)

B) Filtration – I am using a Mechanical filter. The Emperor by Marineland is best for me because it helps in the oxygenation process, it collects particles and debris in the water and you can also add a biological filter media (peat) to adjust or control acidity.

C) Lighting – 1 florescent light (how many watts?) – the plants need the light to thrive, however the fish do not like the light too much, because of this, I have given them plenty of shade through the plant material and driftwood.

D) Temperature Control – To control and maintain the temperature in my aquarium to 84 degrees Fahrenheit, I will use a 250 watt heater and thermometer.

E) Water Movement – I will have my filter on a low setting, as Discus prefer a slight circulation.

F) Substrate – 2/3 cm of fine gravel.

G) Livestock:
1. Fish – 6 Discus fish (Symphysodon discus)
2. Plants - Hairgrass (Eleocharis acicularis)
Amazon Swordplant (Echiodorus paniculatus)
Crytocoryne blassi

H) Other considerations:
1. Water parameters – Temperature between 82-86 degrees Fahrenheit, pH levels acidic, 6.0 – 7.5, ammonia levels 0.0, nitrite levels 0.0, nitrate levels <30 ppm, carbonate hardness 4 dCH total hardness not above 8 dH.
2. Feeding – Discuss need a diet rich in vitamins, if not; they are likely to get hole in the head disease. Feeding a variety of different food is beneficial to their growth and overall health. I would feed my discuss bloodworms, beef heart, and brine shrimp, one to two times daily as adults.
3. Maintenance –