PDA

View Full Version : New to discus

saltydog
01-04-2010, 04:52 PM
Sorry for the double thread. but i posted this in the community section and realized i think i posted in the wrong section as it does not get included on new post. So hope this is right. Moderators please move if needed. i am use to our small local forum..sorry for any confusion i did not see a seperate welcome section...anyway here is my introduction:

Hi all. I am not sure if this is the right place to introduce myself but here it goes..... i am a moderator and a member of a local North Carolina forum and they lead me here and said you guys rock when it came to discus advice etc....
Anyway, My name is Cammie and I have been keeping saltwater tanks for about 12 years. I have always loved discus and have decided the time is now to give it a try. i am converting my 180 gallon reef to a planted discus tank. i am sure I will have lots of questions as I go along so please be patient with me. I am not only new to discus but also new to FW...well kind of. i have had small FW tanks years ago, but nothing to brag about really. Anyway I began tearing down and parting out my reef this past weekend and it has been quite emotional actually but I am sure my up coming adventure will be rewarding. i am still keeping one of my salt tanks as I cannot totally get out but here is a pic of my 180 before I tore it down this past week

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00412.jpg

Soon to be discus planted tank...wish me luck along the way. i will post my build here on this forum and advice and guidance is always appreciated. Thanks ahead of time :D

Double Up
01-04-2010, 05:31 PM
Best of luck!! My first go around with a planted discus tank was a disaster!!

zamboniMan
01-04-2010, 05:38 PM
Best of luck!! My first go around with a planted discus tank was a disaster!!

Most people's are.

Finatic
01-04-2010, 05:51 PM