PDA

View Full Version : Discus Beginnings

Remora
03-15-2010, 10:30 PM
Hi, all! I’m new to SimplyDiscus, and have a few questions I’m hoping you guys can help me with. Firstly, this will be my first ever attempt at raising Discus. I’ve had tanks before, but because of the amount of time (and money) going to be invested in this tank, I’m kind of concerned(… okay, terrified…) that I’m going to do something terribly wrong and kill the fish. I don't want this love affair to end badly!

Tank Specs:
90g show/planted tank
Aquaclear 110
MarineLand BioWheel (60gallon)
90g Hydor heater (whatever wattage goes up to 90 :D)
Gravel

Right off the bat, I started doing my homework on Discus before I even bought the tank. The bad part is, I keep getting so much conflicting information! One source says to ONLY have Discus at a pH of 6.5 to 7.2. I’m doing a water aging test as we speak, and the initial tap comes out at about 7.2 to 7.5. The Aged water, left on the counter overnight, comes out at around the same. Is the pH really THAT important to be precise? Other sources say that as long as it’s stable, the pH doesn’t really matter all that much. How true is this? It won’t harm the Discus to be at 7.5 or 7.8? I read that Carol_Roberts keeps hers at about 7.8.

Another issue I’m having is deciding on a filtration system. I’ve been reading a lot of Carol_Roberts’ posts, and it seems like regular box filters like the Aquaclear are just fine! I have a spare Fluval 405 Canister filter lying around, but have heard that the bacteria takes over the oxygen too quickly (and that it’s a pain to clean, which I agree with!). Which would be better? I plan on doing about 40-50% water changes about every other day. The water will be stored in tubs under my tank, aged, and heated.