PDA

View Full Version : 215, Planned: planted tank, looking for advice...

bstreep
03-19-2010, 10:45 PM
OK, as you can see, I'm new HERE. I've been in the hobby for over 35 years - for 8 years I worked at a very large LFS. For the past 10 years, I've been back in Reef Systems.

It's been a few years since my last discus tank - and things have changed a bit. I'm a molecular biologist by education, and actually did some research many, many moons ago on discus.

The tank is an in-the-wall tank between the dining room and our bedroom. It's a 215 Oceanic Brick tank (3/4" glass, no brace). I have a pair of 72" VHOs I can light with - I'm sure that my 3 x 400w Metal Halides are too much for this!

I have a drain next to the tank for water changes (wet bar), and a 100gpd RO/DI unit that is plumbed under the sink. I also have a 39g top off container under the tank, fed by the RO unit. The tank has 4 holes drilled in the bottom (yes, it's a reef tank), and a calfo overflow on one end.

Here are my thoughts so far AND I'M LOOKING FOR ADVICE, and very open to it:

Add either a 250w MH fixture, or another pair or 2 pairs of VHO.

Substrate: 10 bags of Flourite.

While I realize we aren't looking for flow like a reef tank, should I plumb the 4 holes in the bottom with a 1200gph circulation pump, and several outlets providing some flow?

From the Flouriite, you can guess I'm looking at a planted tank.

I'm thinking I'll run the overflow to a small sump (I have one), for filtration and heating - to keep the heaters out of the main tank.

I have a UV sterilizer I can hook up on a loop, if you folks think it would be beneficial.

I have an ozone unit I can also run - again, if it's beneficial.

My thoughts are that I'd run the tank fishless for a while and grow out the plantings? This tank will be very lightly stocked.

Thanks in advance,

Bill

Here's a couple of photos from before I tore my 215 down:

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z157/bstreep/IMG_2044.jpg