PDA

View Full Version : Top of tank Filters

Eddie
04-05-2010, 10:49 PM
Man, I have never used these types of filters before but I have to say, I am very impressed! I was shopping around the LFS yesterday and there were a few in the bargain bin.....figured, what the heck. Man is there some surface area up in these! The 60 cm fits perfectly on a 55, actually 2 of them (one on each side). I have this thing loaded with bio-rings, sponge mats and even peat blocks. The water comes up and shoots out onto a tray with holes in it and this causes the water to trickle over the entire media surface, probably about 4" X 23". And then the water just channels out through an outflow on the other end. Its insane! There is even a little port that sits above the outflow for feeding, just drop it in the hole. I am fully impressed with these puppies! Only 20 bucks too.

http://en.item.rakuten.com/bottomline/y-200/

diamond_discus
04-06-2010, 01:16 AM
Hey Eddie, how about a tank shot ? So what's going to happen to the tank cover you might already have ?

Eddie
04-06-2010, 05:20 AM
Hey Eddie, how about a tank shot ? So what's going to happen to the tank cover you might already have ?

Easy easy...I use perfecto glass tops that are hinged in the center. I removed the aft piece of glass from the hinge and slid the plastic strip into the hinge. Fits like a glove! ;)

vera
04-06-2010, 05:33 AM
Great buy Eddie , these are the most efficient filters IMO
so how is the water clearance , they are known for starting working straight away
TC:)

Eddie
04-06-2010, 06:01 AM
Great buy Eddie , these are the most efficient filters IMO
so how is the water clearance , they are known for starting working straight away
TC:)