PDA

View Full Version : sponge filters???

Faydra
04-21-2010, 11:36 AM
Hello!

I am new to discus but I have been reading many great things on this forum!

One thing that I have noticed is that almost everyone here uses a "sponge filter". I have seen these in discus aquariums before however I have no idea how they work or where I can get them. I tried my local pet store but they only sell the Fluval canister filters (which is what I already have) and other brand names. I plan on setting up a 20-30 gallon BB breeding tank fairly soon and from what I have been reading a sponge filter is the way to go.

Where do I get them? How do they work? Why are they so much better? :confused:

Thanks in advance!

deepflyball
04-21-2010, 12:51 PM
We have sponsors that sell them. Sterns and foster has them. They are rated to tank size. You just hook an airline to them and the other end to a small air pump and go Jerry

Hello!

I am new to discus but I have been reading many great things on this forum!

One thing that I have noticed is that almost everyone here uses a "sponge filter". I have seen these in discus aquariums before however I have no idea how they work or where I can get them. I tried my local pet store but they only sell the Fluval canister filters (which is what I already have) and other brand names. I plan on setting up a 20-30 gallon BB breeding tank fairly soon and from what I have been reading a sponge filter is the way to go.

Where do I get them? How do they work? Why are they so much better? :confused:

Thanks in advance!

Turbofx98
04-21-2010, 12:56 PM
Hi,