PDA

View Full Version : Marineland C-160 or 220 Canisters

kitykatfunkiehat
05-05-2010, 04:04 PM
I want some more filtration on my 55, and I'm looking into canisters. I have loved every marineland product I've bought, and these two models are actually fairly cheap from Big Als. Any reviews?

I've never used a canister before, so you guys might need to be a little more detailed :D

Thanks!

Edit:
On second thought, the C160 pushes 160 gph, 220 pushes 220 gph, but the Magnum Canister 350 Pro system pushes 350 gph! And is cheaper than the 220. Whats the difference?!

waters10
05-05-2010, 05:11 PM
I want some more filtration on my 55, and I'm looking into canisters. I have loved every marineland product I've bought, and these two models are actually fairly cheap from Big Als. Any reviews?

I've never used a canister before, so you guys might need to be a little more detailed :D

Thanks!

Edit:
On second thought, the C160 pushes 160 gph, 220 pushes 220 gph, but the Magnum Canister 350 Pro system pushes 350 gph! And is cheaper than the 220. Whats the difference?!
I don't have experience with that filter, but I'd look into the cheap sun sun filters on ebay.

A lot of people say they are exactly the same as the C marineland filters. Some speculates that it is even manufactured in the same place ... Check plantedtank.net for more info on that filter series.

Oh, and they are much cheaper!

kitykatfunkiehat
05-06-2010, 10:42 AM
Much cheaper than $115?! Seriously?

Eddie
05-06-2010, 11:53 PM
I'd go with the SunSun type also if you are stuck on that type of canister. I have a C-Series on the wife's tank and its decent, quiet and powerful. I've moved out of the canister arena as I find them to NOT even be worth the effort to clean. I feed fish way too much and the filter needs cleaning weekly, even with prefilters!

HTH

Eddie

kitykatfunkiehat
05-07-2010, 12:06 AM
Ew, really? What filters do you use?

rickztahone
05-07-2010, 12:13 AM

Eddie uses only sponges i believe.

Eddie