PDA

View Full Version : My 180 planted discus tank

saltydog
05-08-2010, 09:41 PM
I am new to the whole FW thing since about January. i have been a Saltwater reefaholic for about 12 years or so. I have always wanted to have discus but always been too scared to take them on. So in December i dove in with both feet and sold off my reef and started up a planted discus tank in january.

Here are the very beginnings of the tank the end of January first of Feb about three weeks after set up.
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00557-1.jpg
About a month later
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00695.jpg
A couple of recent FTS's
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00916.jpg
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00917.jpg

From the side
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00919.jpg

Some of the fish
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00931.jpg
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00937.jpg
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00936.jpg
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00928.jpg
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm140/camsan92/DSC00861.jpg

A few things I would have done differently and still may....I have had some peppering although i do not mind it and most of it was present when I bought them, I may would have put some lighter sand on the top of the eco complete. the background was already painted black but I would have liked a faux rock wall and then placing the plants a little differently. the Val has taken over. I am going to be cutting it back here soon so the other plants can continue to grow. Other than that I am pretty pleased for the first time doing a FW tank.